top of page

Distractions, Distractions

This song is inspired by the many times I have spent staring at screens, looking at information which is unhealthy, distracting, and/or repetitive. Although it is good to take time to relax, spending down time sleeping, meditating, reading books, or watching media that introduces you to new, thought-provoking, healthy ideas, down time can be damaging to one's self-confidence, connections with other people, and mental health if it is not taken with care. In this song, searching, anthemic verses contrast with a bouncy, off-kilter chorus, until the bridge / climax asks the culminating question and the last, changed chorus brings resolution.


“Distractions, Distractions”


How deep will I go, before I find out something I already know?

How long will it be, before I see what’s clearly right in front of me?

How high will I fly, before I come crashing down from the sky?

How far will I run, before I finally become more than a “no one”?


‘Cause all I’m living through is distractions, distractions

‘Cause what’s in front of me is habits, bad habits

And all of it is fiction, just plain fiction

Oh it’s making me nervous, so nervous


Oh why do I sit and stare, when I should wake up and go somewhere?

Oh why don’t I feel the sting, when for others I should do something?

Oh why do I scream and shake, when it’s what they always wanted to create?

Oh why do I retreat and become blocked, when I thought I had the key to the lock?


‘Cause all I’m living through is distractions, distractions

‘Cause what’s in front of me is habits, bad habits

And all of it is fiction, just plain fiction

Oh it’s making me nervous, so nervous


All I have to do

Is simply step out of the dark comfort of my room

So I say today

But is it really time for me to find my way!?


‘Cause I’m trying to move past the distractions, distractions

‘Cause in time I’ll break the habits, bad habits

And I’ll leave behind the fiction, all the fiction

Oh and I’ll stop being nervous, so nervous


Comments


 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page