top of page

Friends

I was inspired to write this song, a soft-rocker filled with memories in the verses, tension in the two-part pre choruses, and release in the choruses, when I graduated from high school and wondered how I would keep in touch with friends. I began writing this song last summer, but ran into writer's block when starting the second chorus. I finished this song this summer when a good friend from college told me he was transferring, and the middle of the song refers to our friendship. The last chorus is refers to both my high school friends and him, as I call out in hope that we can remain in touch and have more good times together in the future.

“Friends”

The days that we played

With reckless abandon

My friends, to which I said

I would never let one be stranded

Will it all come down to this?

Will it all come down to this?

Our new interests, we explore deep

Soon different perspectives, opinions we keep

Over neat tables set, flares of anger grow

We move away, new armor shows

Can we try? (We’ll try)

Can we try?

To hold onto one strand (one strand)

Of what keeps us close by

The times that we cried

To new revelations

Late night, side by side

What a cathartic occasion!

Will it all come down to this?

Will it all come down to this?

Our old stories, we tell deep

Different perspectives, opinions we keep

Sitting on dirty couches, flares of anger grow

We walk away, new armor shows

Can we try? (We’ll try)

Can we try?

To hold onto one strand (one strand)

Of what keeps us close by

The nights that we laughed

What great entertainment!

These moments we crafted

Our bonds’ attainment

Will it all come down to this?

Will it all come down to this?

These fleeting hours, we savor deep

Different perspectives, memories we keep

Visiting new places, the anger subsides

We walk together, the old armor dies

Can we try? (We’ll try)

Can we try?

To hold onto the strands (the strands)

That keep us close by

The trials when we part

Unexpectedly or gradually

The pain tears me apart

What could have been, oh the agony

Will it all come down to this?

Will it all come down to this?

From far away, I miss you deep

Different new friends, situations we keep

Despite electronic transmissions, distance grows

You’ve moved away, and I’ve got to know

Let us try (We’ve got to try)

Let us try

To hold onto the connection

That keeps us close by


 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page