top of page

Focus, Focus

I've had a really hard time navigating completing online classes, sustaining my friendships, exploring projects and interests, informing myself, carefully, of tragic world events and the tense cultural climate resulting from them, and supporting my mental health. One recent troubled night, I thought up a chorus for a rocking Americana song that reflected what I am going through currently, and I completed the lyrics on a restful day looking out on the water and sitting on my bunk bed on a beach vacation. The song's title, "Focus, Focus", reflects the words I say incessantly, worryingly, when I get off track.

Focus, Focus

Well, I’m putting it off

Well, I’m feeling a lie

Well, I’m having it rough

Well, I’m saying goodbye

I know that it’s hard

To kick off the dust

To clean off the rust

To know who to trust

When the times feel insane

Its’ spinning, my brain

What’s next distracts my lane

To working again

Well, I’m putting it off

Well, I’m feeling a lie

Well, I’m having it rough

Well, I’m saying goodbye

I just wanna’ take a break

Sit back by the lake

Read, write, run, and bake

No wasting time, making mistakes

Then I think about all else to do

Old projects, ideas new

Caring for those I love, too

But I’m too often overwhelmed, blue

Well, I’m putting it off

Well, I’m feeling a lie

Well, I’m having it rough

Well, I’m saying goodbye

Oh I get off track

I keep pushing the good aside

I need help in pulling me back

So I can pick up my stride

Focus, Focus


 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page