top of page

Sound Bites

This song is based on two caricatures: the midwestern right-wing everyman manufacturing worker (Joe) and the ideological leftist transgender environmental activist (Cate). I convey my idea in the song that although it can be annoying and triggering sometimes, honest expression of ideas to those one disagrees with is ok. Also, agreeing to respectfully disagree is also ok. The rhetoric of the two caricatures intentionally gets less extreme and argumentative as the song progresses.

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 1 (Joe)

I’m just an average Joe

Trying to make a home

And my job’s without a low

Around this great nation my parts roam

Now all these people are speaking change

Wanting our society blown away

Because it offends their sensibilities

Well in this great environment I’m speaking free

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 2 (Cate)

I’m not an average Cate

To Joe I’m an “it” who should be erased

Because I’m poor and don’t fit the body

That his social construct wants me to be

Well as for this Earth, Joe’s lovely place

That’s what really will be erased

When the cars his plant makes

Release gases, cause Earth to bake

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 3 (Joe)

I’m a normal guy

I’m also barely getting by

You should have your right to smile

Even if I don’t understand your style

Well the world will be just fine

Economic growth’s caused by work like mine

Startups will promise with designs

If you let the market flow with time

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 4 (Cate)

I’m a unique, proud person

If you’re uncomfortable, learn something

You know, the system you’ve been praising

Well gross injustice it’s embracing

It exploits or ignores my life

It’s built on social strife

The profit motive, the colonizer’s wife

Innovation will be ended by it’s knife

Bridge (Cate)

Whoah, oh-ooh

Look in my eyes, see what they know

Whoah, oh-ooh

Look in my heart, see what it shows

Are we destined to never grow?

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 5 (Joe)

I’m a history fan

Some US actions should be panned

But the achievements of this land

Monuments, institutions justly stand

They’ve levelled the playing field

So with self-motivated ideals

We can solve these problems real

Unless you’re postmodern chambers are the deal

Chorus (All)

Well, I do not feel right (Yeah, Yeah)

Cause' of that crazy little sound bite (Yeah, Yeah)

Well, how can you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I cannot take that

Verse 6 (Cate)

I’m curious, learning I’ve sought

Of deep rooted oppression I’ve been taught

Small improvements just aren’t a lot

When faced with this structural disease we’ve caught

You speak of bad acts

Look at today’s dark facts

We need to change our future tracks

To one where compassionate light we attract

Call and Response (Joe)

I can’t seem to grasp your full view

Call and Response (Cate)

Well you know, I can’t too

Call and Response (Joe)

But your passionate, honest

Call and Response (Cate)

And you’re positive, engagement-focussed

Altered Chorus (All)

Well I feel alright (Yeah, Yeah)

I’m done with crazy little sound bites (Yeah, Yeah)

I sort of get why you say that (Yeah, Yeah)

I’ll try to peacefully change that


 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page